Toni Lynn Washington


Toni Lynn Washington (born Dorothy Helen Leak, December 6, 1937, Southern Pines, North Carolina) is an American blues singer.

Musical career

She took to music at an early age, singing with her school and church choirs.

She has had seven Blues Music Award nominations. Washington received the 1999 Boston Blues Festival Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2003 she released her fourth CD since 1997, and her first on the NorthernBlues label.


  • Blues at Midnight (1995, Tone-Cool Records, a Rounder Records subsidiary)
  • It's My Turn Now (1997, Tone-Cool Records)
  • Good Things (2000, Tone-Cool Records)
  • Been So Long (2003, NorthernBlues Music)

Main band members

  • Keyboards: Bruce Bears
  • Guitar: Duke Robillard, Kevin Belz, and Mike Null
  • Saxophone: Chuck Langford, Gordon Beadle, and Doug James
  • Trumpet: Scott Aruda
  • Drums: Dave Jamrog and Mark Texeira
  • Bass: Jesse Williams, Sven Larson and Steve Cuoco
  • Producers: Duke Robillard and Bruce Bears

Blues Music Award nominations

  • 2003, 2004 and 2005 "Soul-Blues Female Performer of the Year"
  • Her previous albums for "Album of the Year"


To learn more about the artist, please visit