Michael Bivins


Michael Lamont Bivins (born August 10, 1968) is an American singer, rapper and manager, and a founding member of New Edition and Bell Biv DeVoe.


Bivins was born in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.


Michael Bivins is one of the founding members of New Edition. When the group broke up he formed Bell Biv DeVoe with Ricky Bell and Ronnie DeVoe. The group is credited with being one of the pioneers of the new jack swing sound. Their debut album, Poison, peaked at number five on the Billboard 200 chart in 1990.

Music Manager

He also discovers, manages, and produces for other acts, most notably Another Bad Creation, MC Brains, Boyz II Men, and 702, all of whom were signed to his Motown distributed label Biv 10 Records. He serves as the music entrepreneur and A&R man of both of his own acts. He also has the New Edition Movie that he produced.


Bivins' credits Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas soundtrack#Contemporary Soul Radio .28CSR-103.9.29|CSR 103.9]] in the hit video game Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Most recently, he appeared in the basketball film Crossover as the character, Heart Attack. Bivins also manages Artist Development at Making the Band 4 and is CEO and founder of Sporty Rich Enterprises record label.


New Edition

  • Candy Girl (1983)
  • New Edition (1984)
  • All for Love (1985)
  • Under the Blue Moon (1986)
  • Heart Break (1988)
  • Home Again (1996)
  • One Love (2004)

Bell Biv DeVoe

  • Poison (1990)
  • Hootie Mack (1993)
  • BBD (2001)
  • Three Stripes (2017)


  • (2009) Fresh (Featuring Clipse & Lil' Kim)

To learn more about the artist, please visit